Sunday 11th April 2010
In Vitro Du Bourg wins Trotting Blue Riband

The 2010 winner of the "Tazza l-Kbira" sponsored by Emirates Airline is In Vitro du Bourg. The popular horse has now entered into the Hall of Fame of the best ever trotting champions ever to race in Malta.

The final time registered was that of 1'15''8 in a contested race were the other favourite and two times winner James de L'Iton failed to impress in the Final event. The race started at a very fast past with Lou Lou de Lamee expertly driven by Charles Camilleri setting the tempo followed by Lys De L’Oasis. The latter attacked and took the lead, which lasted until the last 500m. Both In Vitro du Bourg and James de L’Iton closely followed the leading pack with Isolated and Kakisis always in the frame for a grand finale. In the last 500m Ivan Bilocca on Vitro Du Bourg started to put pressure on the leading pack and attacked two wide on the outside taking the lead as they approached the final straight. From there on In Vitro never looked back and it was a late run from both Kakisis and Lou Lou de Lamee to contest a close second and third place with Isolated also closely behind.

After the Race, Mr Paul Fleri Soler, Emirates Manager for Malta & Cyprus, presented the trophy to the winning owners Mr V Debono and Mr C Bilocca. Mr Ivan Bilocca commented afterwards, that it was a dream come true to lift such an important award as the Top Horse in Malta for 2010. He also thanked Emirates Airline for sponsoring this year’s event.

View the 2010 "Tazza l-Kbira" feature in our gallery