Tuesday 25th October 2016
Johnnie Walker Cup Final

As in the past years the first championship after the Summer break is that sponsored by M. Demajo (Wines & Spirits) Ltd with the Johnnie Walker Cup reserved for Gold Category horses the final of which will be raced on Sunday 6th November. This will be the 7th race of the programme starting at 4:05 in the afternoon.


Like last year we had five qualification races from which 20 horses went on to the semi finals which were raced on Sunday 23rd October so that the 10 finalist horses became known.


Total prize money amounts to €1600 with the winner getting €900 as well as trophies for the first four finishers which were commissioned for the occasion.  The winner will also receive a commemorative blanket whilst the winning owner gets to keep the Johnnie Walker Cup for one year.  This trophy dates back to 1939. The sponsor will also be presenting the winning owner with a bottle of Johnnie Walker Blue Label whilst the 2nd, 3rd and 4th placed will each get a bottle of Johnnie Walker Platinum, Johnnie Walker Gold and Johnnie Walker Green Label respectively. Last year’s winner was One Photo driven by Charles Debono and who this year only managed to get as far as the qualification stage.


Without doubt we would like to express our heartfelt thanks to the sponsor of this event M.Demajo (Wines & Spirits) Ltd especially the Marketing Manager Mr Alfred Braddick for the continuing support in helping us financially to organise this championship that has now become one of the owners’ favourites.


For today’s press conference apart from the media we also invited the owners of the finalist horses so that they will be the ones to draw the numbers which will determine the starting position of their horse. The press conference was addressed by the chairman of the Malta Racing Club Mr Edwin Borg and the Marketing Manager of M.Demajo (Wines & Spirits) Ltd Mr Alfred Braddick.


The finalist horses will be starting with the following numbers:



1.       Sullian du Mouty

2.       Blizzard AD

3.       Solide du Jayle

4.       Voyou Atout

5.       Power To Be

6.       Lover Roc

7.       Eklas Superior

8.       Energitj

9.       Qurieux du Ponchet

10.   Digital Motion


We would like to wish all the owners a fantastic race.


Lorraine Cunningham

Public Relations & Media Officer

Malta Racing Club